22 Dec 2020

Australia’s International Quarantine Requirements

As part of Australia’s international travel restrictions, all travellers to Australia need to quarantine for 14-days, except for:  

Travellers who have been in New Zealand for 14 days prior to travel (although this may differ between Australian States and Territories).  

People who meet a Quarantine Exemption category.  

To separate passengers from ‘quarantine-free’ flights and those who must enter mandatory quarantine, green and red travel zones have been created at Australian airports.  

Here’s what you need to know about national guidelines for Australia’s international quarantine exemptions and changes to the international arrivals process in response to the pandemic. 

Green Travel Zones | Arriving to Australia

Australia currently only has a safe travel zone with New Zealand. This allows travellers who have been in New Zealand (for 14 days prior to travel ) to come to Australia ‘quarantine-free’, provided they have not been in a COVID-19 outbreak location. 

Green Zone travellers may have to go through additional health screening. 

Red Travel Zones | Arriving to Australia

All other passengers are considered to be arriving from a red zone and need to undertake 14 days of quarantine in the city of their arrival unless they meet a Quarantine Exemption category. 

Travellers may need to meet quarantine costs and undergo COVID-19 testing as per State or Territory arrangements.  

Quarantine Exemption Categories | National Guidelines 

Quarantine requirements, including quarantine exemptions, are managed at a State and Territory Government level, therefore you should check current rules with the respective Government authority.  

However, as a national guide, the Australian Health Protection Principal Committee (AHPPC) recommends the below travellers should beexempt from 14-day mandatory quarantine requirements without applying for an exemption:  

Airline, medevac and air ambulance crew – conditions apply for red and green zone flight crew. 

Domestic flight crew (State and Territory quarantine requirements apply).  

Maritime crew (State and Territory quarantine requirements apply).  

Cruise ships and non-commercial vessels are not exempt from quarantine.  

The AHPPC also recommends the below travellers should apply for a quarantine exemption: 

International transit passengers (however, quarantine is required if the wait for your next flight is from 8 to 72 hours) 

Unaccompanied minors.  

Persons on official government travel.  

Foreign diplomats. 

Travellers with compassionate or medical grounds.  

(State and Territory quarantine requirements apply)

Travellers that are granted a quarantine exemption may still have to undertake quarantine but may be able to access flexible arrangements, such as completing the 14 days at home or an accommodation of their choice.  

Immigracious| Perth Migration Agents

Australia Travel Declarations are another change to the international arrivals process for travellers.

If you have any queries about your visa circumstances or options, we encourage you to get in touch with Immigracious’ Registered Migration Agents. 


The Department of Home Affairs  

Immigracious’ Registered Migration Agents  

Sheila Woods

Posted by: Sheila Woods

A very experienced migration agent, Sheila has always been fascinated by this field. Her university degree thesis was on Australia’s post-war immigration history (and it earned her first-class honours).

Filed in: Uncategorized


Comments are closed.


Follow us